True to its name, the St. Louis City neighborhood of Riverview is the closest community alongside the mighty Mississippi River. Unique in shape, topography and layout, Riverview covers a total of 1.34 square miles. Located within the northern St. Louis City region, the neighborhood is surrounded by the St. Louis City neighborhood of North Riverfront Neighborhood towards the south and the St. Louis County municipalities of Baden, Bellefontaine Neighbors, Glasgow Village and similarly named Riverview towards the western regions. The neighborhood’s entire eastern portion is defined by the Mississippi River. As of the 2010 census, Riverview’s population was recorded at 304 residents. It is represented by one Aldermen sitting in the second Ward.
Though not much is known about the neighborhood’s overall history, the Riverview of today is made up of two parks, the North Riverfront Park and the Chain of Rocks Park. More on those two later! Some suggest that Riverview’s growth began around the same time as the Baden region in the middle of the 19th century. Some of the neighborhood’s earliest landowners include St. Louis’ first mayor William Carr Lane, businessman Samuel Wiggins and Olympic swimmer Amedee Reyburn. Expansion of further developments occurred during the early 1870s as subdivision construction increased throughout the later 19th century into 1930.
Being so close to the Mississippi River, the neighborhood accumulates many visitors to get an experience of natural Missouri and its parks.
Residents of Riverview are served by the St. Louis Public School District.
As previously mentioned, Riverview’s two major parks of Chain of Rocks Park and North Riverfront Park take up a majority of the neighborhood’s area. North Riverfront Park covers a total of 250 acres and includes the neighborhood’s best access to the Mississippi River. Visitors are free to walk along the water and fish along the river’s coast. The park’s major walking trail of North Riverfront Trail stretches nearly 11 miles and includes sight seeing, especially for bird watchers during Eagle Days.
Originally an amusement park from 1927 to 1978, Chain of Rocks Park is now less than 30 miles of open green space. The amusement park once included one roller coaster and additional rides, an arcade, swimming pool, roller rink, carousel and picnic grounds. Although very popular, it ceased operation in 1978 when Six Flags St. Louis, formerly known as Six Flags Over Mid-America, opened.
Another well-known “water” landmark within Riverview is Chain of Rocks Plant. This water treatment plant opened in 1894 and filtered water from the Mississippi River. This system utilized standpipe water towers, the Bissell Water Tower, the Compton Hill Water Tower and the Grand Water Tower, to regulate the pressure. Although still standing, these towers are no longer in use.